top of page
Architect at Work

How to become an architect, State exam guide

The state exam for professional qualification is a necessary step to become an architect and obtain the professional qualification at the end of university studies. It is possible to enroll in two distinct sections of the professional register based on the different degree of ability and competence acquired through the dual university training course, first level and second level. Let's see together the necessary requirements for access to state exams and the procedures for carrying out professional qualification.

Requirements for admission to state exams

Access to state exams is diversified according to the level of studies achieved and allows enrollment in two different Sections (Section A and Section B) of professional registers, which are in turn divided into sectors. Everyone competes for the sector to which he is enrolled, but can enroll in more than one sector, upon passing the relevant state exam.

Section A

Access to Section A is for those in possession of a second level degree (master's or old system), and compete in one or more sectors relating to specific professional activities. 

For "Architects"

  • ​ LM-4 (ex  classe 4/S) Architettura e Ingegneria edile

For "Pianificatore settore “pianificazione territoriale”​

  • LM-48 (ex classe 54/S) Pianificazione territoriale, urbanistica e ambientale

  • LM-4 (ex  classe 4/S) Architettura e Ingegneria edile

For "Paesaggista, settore “paesaggistica”

  • LM-3 (ex classe 3/S) Architettura del paesaggio

  • LM-4 (ex  classe 4/S) Architettura e Ingegneria edile

  • LM-75 (ex classe 82/S) Scienze e tecnologie per l’ambiente ed il territorio

For Conservatore, settore “conservazione dei beni architettonici ed ambientali”

  • LM-10 (ex classe 10/S) Conservazione dei beni architettonici e ambientali

  • LM-4 (ex  classe 4/S) Architettura e Ingegneria edile


Section B

You can access Section B if you have a first level degree (three-year degree), and compete in one or more sectors relating to specific professional activities.

For" junior architect"

  • L-17 (ex classe 4) Scienze dell’architettura

  • L-7 (ex classe 8) Ingegneria civile e ambientale

For Pianificatore iunior settore “pianificazione” 

  • L-21 (ex classe 7) Urbanistica e scienze della pianificazione territoriale, urbanistica, paesaggistica e ambientale

  • L-32 (ex classe 27) Scienze e tecnologie per l’ambiente e la natura

Admission Request

To take the state exam, it is necessary to submit the application for admission on the university personal platform, indicating the date of birth and residence and the necessary documents attached to the request.

Exam tests

The performance of the exams is structured differently depending on the section and sector for which you are competing. Those who come from section B or from different sectors of the same section and those who obtain a degree following the outcome of a course based on specific agreements between the university and professional associations or colleges are exempted from one of the written tests.

Tests for Section A

For the Architect (architecture sector) the exam is divided into 4 tests:

  1. A practical test concerning the design of a civil construction work or an intervention on an urban scale

  2. A first written test relating to the justification of the structural or settlement dimensioning of the practical test

  3. A second written test dealing with cultural and cognitive issues of architecture

  4. An oral test consisting of the commentary on the project and in-depth study of the subjects covered by the written tests, as well as on the aspects of legislation and professional ethics

Tests for Section B

For the junior architect (architecture sector) the exam is divided into 4 tests:

  1. A practical test consisting in the graphic development of an existing project or in the visible relief and graphic drafting of an architectural detail;

  2. A first written test concerning the economic-quantitative evaluation of the practical test;

  3. A second written test consisting of a theme or graphic test in the subjects characterizing the training course;

  4. An oral test in the subjects covered by the written tests and in legislation and professional ethics.

The exam sessions

State exams are held each year in two sessions - summer and autumn - defined by a specific ministerial order. The first examination dates are often held in 15th of June/November (for section A) and 23/24th of June/November(for section B).

The subsequent tests are held in the order established for each center by the Presidents of the examining commissions; the dates of performance are announced in a public notice on the website of the university where the exams are held.

The examination centers

The practical information to take the qualification exams may vary for each University from year to year and can be found at the institutional sites of each university. The main exam sites are listed below.

  • Bari – Politecnico

  • Matera – Università della Basilicata

  • Cagliari

  • Camerino

  • Catania

  • Cesena – Università di Bologna

  • Ferrara

  • Firenze

  • Genova

  • Milano – Politecnico

  • Napoli – Università  Federico II

  • Napoli – Università della Campania – L. Vanvitelli

  • Palermo

  • Parma

  • Perugia

  • Pescara – Università  G. D’annunzio

  • Roma  – Università La Sapienza

  • Reggio Calabria

  • Sassari

  • Torino – Politecnico

  • Trieste

  • Venezia

Registration in Architects Albo

Having passed all the stages of selection of the exams, you obtain the professional qualification which is perfected with registration in the professional Albo of the Order of Architects, Planners, Landscape Architects and Conservators.

bottom of page